In a perfect world, this would be a one-word blog post. And that word would be "yes". Sadly, the real answer is no.
Salsa is mostly vegetables, so you'd think that you wouldn't have to worry about gluten in salsa, but that's just not the case. Some brands of salsa contain hydrolyzed wheat gluten in their seasonings. Others meet the US standards for gluten-free (20 parts per million) which can still be too much for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities. (In these cases, none of the ingredients contains gluten, but gluten can be introduced into the salsa through cross-contamination from other products.) Still others contain distilled white vinegar, which can be made from grains that contain gluten. And some contain smoke flavoring that includes barley flour.
It's bad enough dealing with friends and relatives who don't believe your gluten problem is real. You shouldn't also have to worry about gluten hiding in a product that's mostly tomatoes. And tastes better without those gluten-containing additives.
Not all salsas have gluten lurking within. Some salsas are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). But those aren't the only salsas that are completely gluten-free and safe for the gluten-averse. Small companies that don't produce any products containing gluten won't have any cross-contamination going on. Like us.
NAKED infusions makes salsa and corn chips. And that's it. No wheat tortilla chips means no gluten. We don't use vinegar or mysterious processed "flavorings" in our salsa, so we've got those bases covered too.
We love to cook with NAKED infusions salsa, and we've been sharing recipes so you can join in the fun and deliciousness. Not every recipe using NAKED infusions salsa is gluten-free, depending on the other ingredients. If you make NAKED balls with ready-made meatballs, you'll need to check the ingredients label. NAKED lasagna isn't gluten free - but it can be if you use gluten-free lasagna noodles.
Eating gluten-free doesn't mean disappointing meals and snacks. It doesn't mean giving up fancy, gourmet treats. It doesn't even mean having to prepare everything you eat from scratch, just to be safe. Even if you're extremely sensitive to gluten, there are some salsas that you can eat safely, ours included.
Don't forget that there are plenty of foods that are naturally gluten-free, and don't come with the added costs of gluten-free foods. Rice, potatoes, dairy, fruits and vegetables don't contain gluten, just like corn tortilla chips. One of the big hassles of celiac disease and gluten intolerance is tracking down all the hidden gluten - in your toothpaste, your medicine, your soy sauce. You shouldn't have to worry about gluten hiding in your salsa. With NAKED infusions, you don't have to.